The Fort Worth Safe Communities Coalition held its organizing meeting on November 16, 2011. The initiative was started to facilitate an application to become a designated member of the Safe Communities of America and to use that process to foster and strengthen ongoing relationships across existing silos of injury prevention. From that initial meeting, eight prevention task forces were identified based on community data, needs and recommendations from the steering committee. In addition, a Leadership Task Force was established to govern the project.


This dynamic coalition developed a successful application for the City of Fort Worth to become designated by the World Health Organization (WHO) Collaborating Centre on Community Safety Promotion (CCCSP) as the 300th Safe Community world-wide, the 22nd in the United States, and the 2nd in Texas on February 2013.



Since designation in 2013, the Fort Worth Safe Communities Coalition has grown collaborating partnerships with more than 130 people representing more than 80 Fort Worth and Tarrant County organizations working together to promote safety and prevent injuries.

Our work is largely carried out by voluntary coalition members formed into one of six active prevention task forces which share interest on a specific injury foci. Each task force begins by studying local injury data to determine needs and priorities. Next, the group determines what local initiatives may already be in place or in planning to address the priority injury and safety concerns. Finally, the task force develops a plan to address any gaps or to leverage current activities, followed by evaluation to determine impact.


In November 2017, we applied for and received re-designation as a Safe Community through Safe Communities America, a program of the National Safety Council, and a founding member of the Pan Pacific Safe Communities Network, which includes more than  60 communities from Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and the United States.

You can help! All task forces are open to participation by anyone interested to collaborate on injury prevention and disaster preparedness in the North Texas region. Please contact us by email at info@fwscc.org to find out more about joining a task force.



Program Director, Fort Worth Emergency Services Collaborative and Chair, Fort Worth Safe Communities Coalition


The Fort Worth Safe Communities Coalition Advisory Board is made up of a dedicated group of volunteers committed to making Fort Worth a safe city in which to grow, live work and play.

Betty Harvey

Brad Cannell


Cynthia Velazquez


Danielle Carlton


Doug Hooten

Jennifer Nanni

Jennifer Severance

Lavonne Adams

Kathlene Camp

Kimberlin Moore

Kimberly McFarland

Matt Zavadsky

Michael Lugo

Richard Brooks

Ronnie Rencher

Sarah Thieroff


Sharon Evans

Terri Ford

Dr. Terry McCarthy

Vicki Mize



Get in touch with Fort Worth Safe Communities Coalition to learn more about our work and find out how to get involved. We appreciate your support!

  • facebook
  • twitter

Your details were sent successfully!